Contacts are Atakama-enabled computers sharing a common cloud or network location.


Frequently Asked Questions


What is a Contact?

A Contact is another Atakama-enabled computer that shares a cloud or network location with your computer.


Why do I not see the Contacts tab in the Control Center?

The Contacts tab is visible only when your computer has detected a shared cloud or network location that another Atakama-enabled computer has accessed.


What does "Unverified" / "Verified" mean?

A Contact will remain “Unverified” until you confirm that computer’s identity. See Verifying a Contact. Once you confirm the computer's identity, it will become a "Verified" Contact. A “Verified” Contact is a computer with which you can securely share files, but only after you have "Approved" that computer to access the specific cloud or network share location. See Access Management. To maintain security, Atakama will prevent your ability to share files with Contacts that remain "Unverified" and "Unapproved".  


How do I verify a Contact?

You can "Verify" a Contact by clicking the "Verify" button in the Contacts tab within the Atakama Control Panel. You will then need to fill in the missing word from that Contact's Keychain ID. See Verifying a Contact.


What happens when I verify a Contact?

Once a Contact has been "Verified" you will be able to securely share files with that computer within a common cloud or network share location. See Sharing with Atakama.


What is the Contacts tab within the Atakama Control Center? 

The Contacts tab contains a listing of all other computers with which your computer shares a cloud or network folder. You can view information about the computers listed in the Contacts tab and determine whether you trust those devices for file sharing purposes. Computers in the Contacts tab are grouped by verification status, and you have the option to change the Contact’s status from Unverified to Verified. You can also remove a Contact from your list and provide the Contact with an alias. For your convenience, you can rename a Contact to an alias you prefer to show personally for you. 


Each Contact contains the following information:

  • The computer's name, which is designated by the person who setup Atakama on that device

  • The Contact's Keychain ID, which is a unique identifier assigned to the computer and its associated keys

  • The verification status indicates whether you (or a designated administrator) has deemed the Contact to be trustworthy for file sharing purposes

  • Common Shared Locations are the cloud or network folders shared between you and the Contact.